ᜌᜓᜃᜒ (Yuki ・ 雪亮)
If this is not the end of oblivion, then I shall live everyday as if my life were to end this very day.

아가씨 The Handmaiden (2016) review

아가씨 The Handmaiden (2016) review

Friday, Feb 19, 2021

Sometime in the 1930s when Japan occupied Korea, Nam Sook Hee was hired as a handmaiden for the Japanese heiress Lady Hideko, who lived secluded from the world. However, Nam Sook Hee and Lady Hideko developed feelings for each other which changed their fates.

1 minute read
허쉬 HUSH (2020) review

허쉬 HUSH (2020) review

Tuesday, Feb 9, 2021

허쉬》 or “HUSH” was a Korean TV serial which ran from December 11, 2020 to February 6, 2021 in jTBC. This show is about the life of a group of news reporters and how they faced the trials thrown at them.

1 minute read
승리호 Space Sweepers (2021) review

승리호 Space Sweepers (2021) review

Saturday, Feb 6, 2021

승리호》 or “Space Sweepers” is South Korea’s first-ever space science fiction show. For their first venture into space, they did not disappoint and made sure audiences were awed by the show’s deep story and unforgettable space adventure.

2 minutes read
더 킹: 영원의 군주 The King: Eternal Monarch (2020) review

더 킹: 영원의 군주 The King: Eternal Monarch (2020) review

Sunday, Jan 24, 2021

더 킹: 영원의 군주” or “The King: Eternal Monarch” (2020) was the best science fiction and romance of the 2010 decade. I would say that this show has gained the number one (#1) spot in my list of “Top 10 Overall Best Sci-fi TV Show” pushing down “Fringe” (2008) which held that rank for 12 years.

2 minutes read
낮과 밤 Awaken (2020) review

낮과 밤 Awaken (2020) review

Thursday, Jan 21, 2021

Thirty years ago an island village was plagued by a mysterious event which shook Korea to its core. Slowly, the stories about the village faded from the memory of the nation and forgotten. However, there were survivors from the island which a group of people are hunting down to continue the forgotten research and one such survivor is a detective who will do everything to keep the demons of the island buried forever.

2 minutes read
달의 연인 - 보보경심 려 Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo (2016) review

달의 연인 - 보보경심 려 Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo (2016) review

Sunday, Jan 3, 2021

달의 연인 - 보보경심 려》 or “Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo” is a very popular and one of the highly-rated Korean Drama since 2016. It stars IU as “Go Ha Jin” and “Hae Soo”, Lee Joon Gi as “Wang So”, Kang Ha Neul as “Wang Wook”, and Hong Jong Hyun as “Wang Yo” as the leading characters.

The series is a Korean TV adaptation of the Chinese novel 《步步惊心》 (Bù bù jīng xīn) by Tong Hua.

2 minutes read
앨리스 Alice (2020) review

앨리스 Alice (2020) review

Friday, Dec 11, 2020

In 2050, an organisation called Alice was formed to help those grieving achieve closure by traveling to the past of a parallel world. Soon after rumours about a Book of Prophecy, which predicts the end of time travel, reached Alice. They sent two agents into 1992 of another world to retrieve the Book but another group got to it first.

2 minutes read
The Choice (2016) review

The Choice (2016) review

Sunday, Jul 3, 2016

I watched The Choice twice tonight. It was that kind of movie and story that inspires us in many ways we can watch it over and over again.

Travis and Gabby first meet as neighbors in a small coastal town and wind up in a relationship that is tested by life's most defining events.
3 minutes read

ᜌᜓᜃᜒ (Yuki ・ 雪亮)
If this is not the end of oblivion, then I shall live everyday as if my life were to end this very day.

The YOOki (柳紀 ・ 유 기) Chronicles

The YOOki (柳紀 ・ 유 기) Chronicles is ᜌᜓᜃᜒ (Yuki ・ 雪亮)’s return into casual and personal blogging. The name “YOOki” is a mash-up of the acronym of YourOnly.One and my nickname ᜌᜓᜃᜒ (Yuki ・ 雪亮).

Interestingly, according to Chinese legend, 「柳」 (YOO) is an ancient Chinese surname. The ancestors of the surname were closely linked with the ancient sage-king named Yu Shun. In Korea, the 「유」 (YOO) lineage traces to the Xia, Han, and Joseon dynasties. Holders of the surname Yu or Yoo had a reputation for charity and diligence.1

It is also the word for “willow” or the “willow tree” which means graceful or slender; and a tree growing near a body of water which provide continuous nourishment and resources for everyone. It can also mean to exist, an oil (anointment(?)), and simply as “U” (you).

The hanzi 「紀」 (ki) character means to record, be disciplined, provide order. While the hangul equivalent, 「기」 (ki; gi), means energy, spirit, a banner, and a period of time; and is also a suffix used to make a gerund or an infinitive.

Can you guess what I mean by 「柳紀」 and 「유 기」 as the Chinese and Korean for “YOOki”?


  1. 「유」 Yoo (Korean surname); CC-BY-SA 3.0 Unported License ↩︎

Now Playing

🎧
📀
🎤

Social Links

comments powered by Disqus