avatar

ᜌᜓᜃᜒ (Yuki ・ 雪亮)
If this is not the end of oblivion, then I shall live everyday as if my life were to end this very day.

What K-Pop Idols Go Through According to 「Imitation」

What K-Pop Idols Go Through According to 「Imitation」

2021-05-08 05:54:00 UTC

Imitation」 is a 12-episode drama about K-Pop idols. It depicts the various challenges and experiences idols go through from training to finally being chosen to debut, a world that fans rarely see. It stars 「Jeong Ji So」 as 「Lee Ma Ha」, 「Lee Jun Young」 as 「Kwon Ryok」, 「Park Ji Yeon」 as 「La Li Ma」, 「Jeong Yun Ho」 as 「Lee Yoo Jin」, together with 「Chani」 as 「Lee Eun Jo」, 「Im Na Young」 as 「Shim Hyun Ji」, and 「Kim Min Seo」 as 「Yu Ri Ah」.

3 minutes read
「TIMES」 review

「TIMES」 review

2021-03-30 10:08:36 UTC

타임즈」 / 「TIMES」 is a 12-episode South Korean TV series created by 「Studio Dragon」 and 「OCN」, known for numerous compelling and engaging dramas. 「TIMES」 stars veteran actors 「Lee Seo Jin」, 「Lee Joo Young」, and 「Kim Yeong Cheol」 who are respected reporters for finding and exposing the truth about corruptions and crime.

3 minutes read
「Splash Splash LOVE」 review

「Splash Splash LOVE」 review

2021-03-20 03:10:37 UTC

퐁당퐁당 LOVE」 / 「Splash Splash LOVE」 is a 2015 live-action short story about a senior high school girl student, who have the ability to teleport through spacetime, who ended up in the Joseon Dynasty and met King Sejong the Great. Kim Seul Gi arrived in a time of draught and had no way to return to 2015, the court of Joseon have mistaken her to be a eunuch which helped her hide her real identity. King Sejong recognized her usefulness and together they developed the improvements the people of Joseon needed … and fell in love with each other.

2 minutes read
The Handmaiden review

The Handmaiden review

2021-02-19 06:11:58 UTC

Sometime in the 1930s when Japan occupied Korea, Nam Sook Hee was hired as a handmaiden for the Japanese heiress Lady Hideko, who lived secluded from the world. However, Nam Sook Hee and Lady Hideko developed feelings for each other which changed their fates.

2 minutes read
HUSH review

HUSH review

2021-02-09 07:24:31 UTC

허쉬》 or “HUSH” was a Korean TV serial which ran from December 11, 2020 to February 6, 2021 in jTBC. This show is about the life of a group of news reporters and how they faced the trials thrown at them.

1 minute read
Space Sweepers review

Space Sweepers review

2021-02-06 08:53:16 UTC

승리호》 or “Space Sweepers” is South Korea’s first-ever space science fiction show. For their first venture into space, they did not disappoint and made sure audiences were awed by the show’s deep story and unforgettable space adventure.

2 minutes read
「Dear My Name」 review

「Dear My Name」 review

2021-01-25 15:29:37 UTC

A two-episode (60 minutes total) web series about finding our soulmates, falling in love, having the courage to confess, facing rejection, and moving on. 「나의 이름에게」 / 「Dear My Name」 stars 「Gongchan」, 「Song Yoo Jung」, 「Kim Do Geon」, 「Han Chae Kyung」, and 「Baek Jae Woo」.

1 minute read
「The Uncanny Counter」 review

「The Uncanny Counter」 review

2021-01-25 08:20:30 UTC

경이로운 소문」 / 「The Uncanny Counter」 (2020) Season 1 was a live-action adaptation of the webtoon (“digital Korean manhwa”) entitled 「Kyeongirowoon Somoon」 (2018) by Jang Yi. It stars 「Cho Byeong Kyu」, 「Yoo Joon Sang」, 「Kim Se Jeong」, 「Yeom Hye Ran」, and 「Ahn Suk Hwan」, as the Counters–people who hunts evil spirits.

2 minutes read
avatar

ᜌᜓᜃᜒ (Yuki ・ 雪亮)
If this is not the end of oblivion, then I shall live everyday as if my life were to end this very day.

The YOOki (柳紀 ・ 유 기) Chronicles

The YOOki (柳紀 ・ 유 기) Chronicles is ᜌᜓᜃᜒ (Yuki ・ 雪亮)’s return into casual and personal blogging. The name “YOOki” is a mash-up of the acronym of YourOnly.One and my nickname ᜌᜓᜃᜒ (Yuki ・ 雪亮).

Interestingly, according to Chinese legend, 「柳」 (YOO) is an ancient Chinese surname. The ancestors of the surname were closely linked with the ancient sage-king named Yu Shun. In Korea, the 「유」 (YOO) lineage traces to the Xia, Han, and Joseon dynasties. Holders of the surname Yu or Yoo had a reputation for charity and diligence.1

It is also the word for “willow” or the “willow tree” which means graceful or slender; and a tree growing near a body of water which provide continuous nourishment and resources for everyone. It can also mean to exist, an oil (anointment(?)), and simply as “U” (you).

The hanzi 「紀」 (ki) character means to record, be disciplined, provide order. While the hangul equivalent, 「기」 (ki; gi), means energy, spirit, a banner, and a period of time; and is also a suffix used to make a gerund or an infinitive.

Can you guess what I mean by 「柳紀」 and 「유 기」 as the Chinese and Korean for “YOOki”?


  1. 「유」 Yoo (Korean surname); CC-BY-SA 3.0 Unported License ↩︎

Now Playing
🎧
📀
🎤